The Major Arcana

The Major Arcana 

Creating tarot decks with only the 22 major arcana cards is a decision that has gained popularity in recent years. The main reason behind this trend is to focus on the core themes and archetypes of the tarot without the distractions of the minor arcana.

The major arcana cards represent the major themes and lessons of life, such as spiritual growth, self-discovery, and personal transformation. They also depict the journey of the Fool, from innocence and naivety to enlightenment and self-realization.

By eliminating the minor arcana cards, which typically represent more mundane aspects of life such as day-to-day struggles and challenges, readers can focus on the larger, more universal themes of the tarot. This can lead to a deeper understanding of the human experience and provide greater insights into the challenges and opportunities that life presents.

Another advantage of decks with only the major arcana is that they can be easier to use for beginners. Without the added complexity of the minor arcana, new users can more easily grasp the meanings and symbolism of the major arcana cards.

Creating decks with only the major arcana can provide a more focused and profound tarot experience for both beginners and experienced readers alike. It allows for a deeper exploration of the archetypes and themes of the tarot, and can provide greater insight and understanding of the human experience.


  • The Fool - represents new beginnings, spontaneity, and taking risks.

  • The Magician - symbolizes manifestation, power, and skillful communication.

  • The High Priestess - embodies intuition, inner wisdom, and spiritual understanding.

  • The Empress - represents abundance, nurturing, and creative expression.

  • The Emperor - embodies authority, structure, and discipline.

  • The Hierophant - symbolizes tradition, conformity, and spiritual guidance.

  • The Lovers - represents choices, partnerships, and harmonious relationships.

  • The Chariot - embodies determination, success, and victory.

  • Strength - symbolizes courage, resilience, and inner fortitude.

  • The Hermit - represents solitude, introspection, and self-discovery.

  • The Wheel of Fortune - embodies change, cycles, and destiny.

  • Justice - symbolizes fairness, balance, and ethical judgment.

  • The Hanged Man - represents surrender, letting go, and gaining a new perspective.

  • Death - symbolizes transformation, endings, and rebirth.

  • Temperance - embodies harmony, balance, and moderation.

  • The Devil - represents materialism, attachment, and addiction.

  • The Tower - symbolizes sudden upheaval, destruction, and upheaval.

  • The Star - embodies hope, inspiration, and spiritual insight.

  • The Moon - represents the unconscious, imagination, and intuition.

  • The Sun - symbolizes vitality, joy, and positivity.

  • Judgment - embodies rebirth, renewal, and awakening.

  • The World - represents completion, wholeness, and integration.